Meet Our Board

Leaders Credit Union is governed by a voluntary board of directors who give generously of their time and talents to provide proper leadership for our staff and members.

Ron Hill, Chairman

Ron has served for the LCU Board for nearly two decades. He has served as Chairman and has held every committee and board position. He is the vice president of hospital services at the Jackson-Madison County General Hospital and is a registered respiratory therapist, with a both a Bachelors and Masters degree in health care administration. Ron attends Englewood Baptist Church and teaches an Adult Men’s Sunday School class. He also serves as the treasurer with the Jackson Downtown Lions Club.

“I have always felt that I had a calling upon my life to serve others. It is a pleasure to be able to do that both at work and at Leaders. The credit union has great members, great staff and great services.”

Eddie Hays, Vice Chairman

Mr. Hays holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from University of Tennessee Knoxville and a Master's of Education from University of Memphis. Mr. Hays served his country over 29 years as a member of the 194th Engineer Brigade National Guard Unit. Mr. Hays is retired from the Jackson-Madison County School System. He is married to Linda and has three children.

Currie Higgs

Mrs. Currie Higgs is Vice President/General Counsel for Jackson-Madison County General Hospital District. Mrs. Higgs received her B.A. from Northwestern University and her J.D. from the College of William and Mary, Marshall-Wythe School of Law. She is licensed in both Virginia and Tennessee, belongs to the usual organizations, and knows all the health care acronyms. She has two dogs and two cats, one of unusual size. Her husband is a very patient man.

Bart Teague

Mr. Teague has worked for West Tennessee Healthcare since 1991 and is currently the Executive Director of Patient Financial Services. He has a BS in Accounting from Union University and a Master of Business Administration from University of Tennessee.

Diane Kelley

Mrs. Kelley was educated at Union University and has an Associates degree in Nursing. She has 21 years of Nursing Management experience with 7 of those years as CEO of Extendicare of Western Tennessee. She was a Member of the Tennessee Association for Home Care. Mrs. Kelley resides in Jackson with her husband, Finis Kelley. She has one daughter, Julie Faulder.

Kirk Newcom

Kirk Newcom holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Union University. Kirk has been involved in many Civic Organizations, which help the Jackson Community. Some of these organizations are The Exchange Club, Board Member for the Carl Perkins Child Abuse Center and PR Chair and the Legislative Chair for the Carl Perkins Boards. Kirk is married to Jeremie and has two children.

Barry Phillips

Barry serves on the ALM committee, budget committee, employee benefit committee, and the facilities committee.

He is currently the Director of Human Resources for Pictsweet in Bells, TN. He holds a B. S. in Education from UTM.

He is a past member of the Brownsville Rotary Club, past member of the Jackson Rotary Club, has served on the board for the Birth Choice Women’s Resource Center, Graduate of Leadership Jackson and Leadership Haywood County, Past Board Chairman of Habitat for Humanity of Haywood County, 2003 Community Service Award recipient of David Craig Chapter of DAR and many other organizations

Eddie Mae Pirtle

Eddie currently serves as a supervisor of instruction for the Jackson-Madison County School System.  Over the past nine years she has been responsible for supervision of curriculum and instruction in elementary, intermediate and middle schools. 

Prior to her current position, Eddie served the State of Tennessee Department of Education for over 23 years as a schoolteacher in various cities.

Eddie received her bachelor’s of science degree in elementary education in 1971 from Tennessee State University and her master’s degree in administration/supervision from Trevecca Nazarene University in 1990.

She is a member of the National Education Association, Tennessee Education Association, Jackson-Madison County Education Association, Phi Delta Kappa Honorary Fraternity, Tennessee Council of Social Studies, Association of School and Curriculum Directors, International Reading Association, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and Tennessee State University Alumni Association.